Thom Yorke’s ‘Atoms For Peace’ Side-Project Confirmed

February 26, 2010

Have you heard about the latest endeavor by Radiohead frontman Thom Yorke? ‘Atoms For Peace’ is the name of the side-project and it kicks off in early April. Find out more below.

Thom Yorke  2

This may be the first true supergroup since the Traveling Wilburys – George Harrison, Jeff Lynne, Roy Orbison, Tom Petty and Bob Dylan – formed in the late 80s. Don’t believe me? Well, just take a look at the superstar lineup that ‘Atoms For Peace’ flaunts: Thom Yorke, Joey Waronker (REM), Mauro Refosco (Forro in the Dark), Flea (Red Hot Chili Peppers) and Nigel Godrich (Radiohead producer)…I bet you believe me now, don’t you?

It was last year that this group of talented musicians came together to perform for a few shows. Although, back then they weren’t known under the uber cool name that they are now. In fact they just recently adopted ‘AFP’.

In a radio interview Yorke revealed that there would be more to come, saying:

“We had too much fun to just leave it there.”

And more recently, in regard to the project’s name, he said:

“Hope you like the name. It seemed bleedin’ obvious.”

Waste club members can purchase tickets beginning March 2nd, while the rest of us have to wait until March 5th to get our hands on them.

According to the concert dates are as follows:

Apr. 5 – New York, NY @ Roseland Ballroom
Apr. 6 – New York, NY @ Roseland Ballroom
Apr. 8 – Boston, MA @ Citi Wang Theatre
Apr. 10 – Chicago, IL @ Aragon Ballroom
Apr. 11 – Chicago, IL @ Aragon Ballroom
Apr. 14 – Oakland, CA @ Fox Theatre
Apr. 15 – Oakland, CA @ Fox Theatre
Apr. 17 – Santa Barbara, CA @ Santa Barbara Bowl
Apr. 18 – Indio, CA @ Coachella

What do you think about Thom Yorke’s ‘Atoms For Peace’?

Just for your viewing pleasure, pictures and a video are included below.

Thom Yorke  1Thom Yorke  2Thom Yorke  3Thom Yorke  4Thom Yorke  5Thom Yorke

Photos: Pickles/Apega

« Previous Next »

Comments are closed.