Emeli Sande Announces New Album, ‘Long Live the Angels,’ Opens Up about Hiatus from Music

September 20, 2016

Emeli Sande has announced her new album, ‘Long Live the Angels’ and premiered the lead single, ‘Hurts.’ The Scottish soul singer and songwriter also reveals the reason behind her nearly three-year hiatus from music. Get the details; the release date and full track list.

 Emeli Sande -

Emeli Sande rose to fame in 2012 with her brilliant, breakthrough album ‘Our Version of Events.’ Widely praised by critics worldwide, it spawned numerous hits including ‘Heaven’ and ‘Next to Me.’ After debuting at No. 1 on the UK Albums Chart it went on to become the bestselling album in the UK in 2012 where it was certified seven-times multi-platinum and won three BRIT Awards.

But the last the world has seen of Sande on the stage or heard in new music was the end of 2013, which is quite a long time in the world of pop music.

Now the wait is over. Her sophomore album, ‘Long Live the Angels,’ is due out on November 11th. In a statement, according to NME, she said of the new album, “This entire album is about me not holding back and not censoring myself.” She goes on to say that the lead single ‘Hurts’ “is an explosion, it’s just…real talk.”

As for why she vanished from the spotlight, she said, “Sounds a bit dramatic, but I just wanted to disappear.” Elaborating, she added, “I just had this overwhelming sensation and realization everything had to stop. And then slowly it did.”

Rolling Stone reports that she also expressed her gratitude for the success of her breakthrough album, saying, “I’m proud of my first album and thankful for the experiences it gave me…But I’m so much happier with my new album and with where I am in life.”

Here’s the full track list for ‘Long Live the Angels’

1. ‘Selah’
2. ‘Breathing Underwater’
3. ‘Happen’
4. ‘Hurts’
5. ‘Give Me Something’
6. ‘Right Now’
7. ‘Shakes’
8. ‘Garden’ (feat. Jay Electronica & Áine Zion)
9. ‘I’d Rather Not’
10. ‘Lonely’
11. ‘Sweet Architect’
12. ‘Tenderly’ (feat. Joel Sande & The Serenje Choir)
13. ‘Every Single Little Piece’
14. ‘Highs And Lows’
15. ‘Babe’

During her appearance at BBC 1’s ‘Live Lounge’ Sande gave the debut performance of the new single ‘Hurts.’ You can watch the full performance in the video below. Stay tuned for more news about the new album Long Live the Angels.’

A photo posted by Emeli Sandé (@emelisande) on

Pictures: PR Photos

« Previous Next »

Comments are closed.