Pink Floyd’s David Gilmour Unveils ‘Rattle That Lock’ Album Tracklisting, Premieres Title Track

July 18, 2015

Pink Floyd frontman David Gilmour has released the full tracklisting of ‘Rattle That Lock,’ his solo studio album and released the title track as the lead single. He’s also announced some new North American tour dates for his upcoming tour next year. It’s cause for celebration; get the details here!

David Gilmour

The legendary British guitarist had first announced a new album in the works earlier this year, and now we have the details. It’s a 10-track album of all new material and it’s due out on September 18th. It will be his first solo studio album since 2006’s ‘On an Island.’

It was just last year, that Pink Floyd released ‘The Endless River’ and it went on to top charts all over the world. The long-awaited album was the band’s first since ‘The Division Bell’ which was released in 1994. So yes, now there is yet more music to look forward to!

Along with releasing the official audio video of the song ‘Rattle That Lock,’ David Gilmour also discusses it in an accompanying behind-the-scenes video (both are below). For longtime fans, the new song meets the usual hopes and expectations of something far more substantive than what have become the typical standards of rock and pop music alike these days. And yes, Gilmour does deliver. It’s not every artist whose lyrics quote from John Milton’s Paradise Lost.

Gilmour says of the song, whose lyrics he co-wrote with his wife novelist Polly Samson, “It’s about a journey, but it’s also about that journey of not accepting the status quo. It’s based on two journeys, both inspired by Paradise Lost.”

Here’s the full “Rattle That Lock” track listing:

1. “5 A.M”
2. “Rattle That Lock”
3. “Faces Of Stone”
4. “A Boat Lies Waiting”
5. “Dancing Right In Front Of Me”
6. “In Any Tongue”
7. “Beauty”
8. “The Girl In The Yellow Dress”
9. “Today”
10. “And Then…”

As for the North American leg of Gilmour’s tour, according to Billboard, it is set to kick off next year, on March 24 in L.A. at the Hollywood Bowl, followed by stops in Toronto and Chicago. The tour will wrap in New York City at Madison Square Garden on April 11.

Yes, much to look forward to. A music video is due out in August for the title track, but in the meantime, be sure to check out the audio of ‘Rattle That Lock’ along with interview in the videos below!

Pictures: PR Photos

« Previous Next »

Comments are closed.