Grease’s John Travolta & Olivia Newtwon-John Announce Christmas Album

October 3, 2012















Grease fans will be in their glory this holiday season with a new Christmas album on the way that will reunite John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John.  The upcoming LP has been titled ‘This Christmas’ and will be released on November 13th 2012.

The new Christmas album will include the song “I Think You Might Like It”, a duet performed by the Grease stars that has been coined a sequel of sorts to their well known collaboration that played out at the end of the 1978 classic where Sandy dons a leather get up, singing “You’re the One That I Want”.   Both songs were penned by writer John Farrar.

Aside from Travolta and Newton-John, seasoned artists Tony Bennett, Barbara Streisand, Kenny G and James Taylor will also appear on the album.

Revealing how the idea for the Christmas album originated, the announcement on Newton-John’s Facebook page stated that it was Travolta who was inspired by a tweet.   “After receiving a Christmastime text from his old friend Olivia noting that their 1978 smash, ‘You’re the One That I Want,’ had just become the best-selling duet in pop music history.”

Newton-John  has since spoken out about recording the album, reuniting with her former co-star 30 years later.  “We all felt a wonderful, joyful energy while recording this album.  We want to make a lot of people smile and happy. It’s a project that we’re hoping turns into a perennial, one that can continue to raise money for these causes year after year, a gift that keeps on giving.”


Check out the track list below.  Proceeds from album sales will be donated to both the Jett Travolta Foundation and the Olivia Newton-John Cancer and Wellness Center.

1. Baby It’s Cold Outside
2. Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree (featuring Kenny G)
3. I’ll Be Home for Christmas (featuring Barbra Streisand)
4. This Christmas (featuring Chick Corea)
5. Silent Night
6. The Christmas Waltz
7. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (featuring Cliff Richard)
8. Winter Wonderland (featuring Tony Bennett and The Count Basie Orchestra)
9. White Christmas
10. I Think You Might Like It
11. The Christmas Song
12. Deck the Halls (featuring James Taylor)
13. Auld Lang Syne/Christmas Time Is Here (Medley)







« Previous Next »

Comments are closed.